Germany

I have exciting news! I applied to be part of a research group to Germany (primarily Berlin) the last two weeks of May into June and was accepted! I will be joining 7 other students and a professor as we venture into Germany to research life there since the Wall fell.

The crazy thing is that I never wanted to go to Germany until I heard about this opportunity. Even though my aunt and uncle live there about half the year, I was never really interested. Now, I can’t wait! It’s as if this is finally my chance to do something with myself for a bigger purpose.

While we are there we will be meeting people and talking with them about German life, religion, values, traditions, etc. We will also be visiting historical sites, museums, and tourist attractions. Part of the trip is to do research and the other is to develop relationships with the people over there in hopes of establishing a more permanent trip or study abroad program.

However, before we land in Berlin we have a lot of work to do – primarily with raising support. Because this is a research trip backed by my school, we have to raise support in order to go! Which is a big challenge. I don’t just have a few extra thousand dollars in my bank account. So I have to rely on the generosity of others.

I will try to keep y’all up to date on the trip and different things! It is an exciting time in my life – my unbalanced life.

One thought on “Germany

Leave a comment